FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022: Teams, groups, schedule, stadiums, tickets and more

FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 will be played from 20 November to 18 December in Qatar. It will be the 22nd Cup of the tournament, and the first to be played in the United Arab Emirates.

The draw for the World Cup groups was held in Doha, Qatar, on April 1, 2022 to create a good environment for the tournament.

The final three qualification spots were filled in June, with Wales, Australia and Costa Rica completing the 32-team draw.

Schedule of World Cup Qatar 2022 group stage matches.

FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022: Teams, groups, schedule, stadiums, tickets and more

Group A 

Qatar, Ecuador, Senegal and Netherlands 

Group B 

England, IR Iran, USA and Wales 

Group C 

Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, Poland 

Group D 

France, Australia, Denmark and Tunisia 

Group E 

Spain, Costa Rica, Germany and Japan 

Group F 

Belgium, Canada, Morocco and Croatia 

Group G 

Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland and Cameroon 

Group H 

Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay and Korea Republic 

The group stage will be played from November 20 to December 2. The knockout stage will begin with the Round of 16 from December 3-6.

The quarter-finals will be played on 9 and 10 December, and the semi-finals on 13 and 14 December. The playoff for third place will take place on December 17, the day before the final.

World Cup Stadiums Qatar 2022

The 64 matches of the championship will be held in eight stadiums – Al Bayt Stadium, Khalifa International Stadium, Al Thumama Stadium, Ahmad Bin Ali Stadium, Lusail Stadium, 974 Stadium, Education City Stadium and Al Janoub Stadium.

National teams that have won the World Cup title since its inception include:

Champions in 2018: France champions in 2014: Germany champions in 2010: Spain champions in 2006: Italy champions in 2002.

Champions in 1998: France champions in 1994: Brazil champions in 1990: Germany FR 1986 champions: Argentina champions 1982: Italy champions 1978: Argentina champions 1974: Germany FR 1970 champions: Brazil 1966 champions: England 1961 champions: England 1961 champions 1969 Brazil 18 Brazil champions 19 Brazil 1969 FR champions 1950: Uruguay 1938 champions: Italy 1934 champions: Italy 1930 champions: Uruguay

Countries with the most World Cup titles

Brazil (5) Germany (4) Italy (4) Argentina (2) France (2) Uruguay (2) England (1) Spain (1)

World Cup 2026: next edition

Canada, Mexico and the United States will host the 2026 tournament.